Location #1

Health Services

This health center receives HHS funding and has Federal Public Health Service (PHS) deemed status with respect to certain health or health-related claims, including medical malpractice claims, for itself and its covered individuals.” For more information, see http://www.bphc.hrsa.gov/ftca/

Federal Tort Claims Act Designation

What is a Community Health Center?

This Health Center is a Health Center Program grantee under 42 U.S.C. 254b and a deemed Public Health Service employee under 42 U.S.C.233(g)-(n)

On August 11, 2015, the Health and Human Services Secretary Sylvia M. Burwell announced today $169 million in Affordable Care Act funding to 266 new health center sites in 46 states, the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico for the delivery of comprehensive primary health care services in communities that need them most.
The JRF Community Health Center is one of the nine New Jersey grant award totaling $3,697,689 to serve a proposed 30,073 new patients.
These new health center sites are projected to increase access to health care services for over 1.2 million patients. These awards build on the $101 million awarded to 164 new health center sites in May 2015.
The JRF Community Health Center is one of the 700 new health center sites that have opened because of the Affordable Care Act, including those awarded earlier in 2015. What started with one clinic in rural Mississippi and another in South Boston is today a national program that supports 1,300 community-based and patient-directed health centers with 9,000 sites serving nearly 23 million people.


For more information, click on the image below.

What is an Federally Qualified Health Center?
An FQHC, or Federally Qualified Health Center, is a nonprofit or public community health center that fulfills certain health service criteria and receives specific government reimbursements and funding.

What do FQHCs do?
FQHCs do a lot, but the most important services we provide are:

  1. Comprehensive primary care. FQHCs offer primary care for all age groups, as well as mental, substance abuse and dental health services. We also partner with other community, health and social organizations to make sure patients have access to a full range of care. 
  2. A sliding fee discount program. Sliding fee programs are based on an individual’s income and family size. They allow patients to pay based on their ability to pay, so that you never have to pay more than you can.
  3. Service to a Medically Underserved Area or Population. Medically Underserved Areas and Populations, or MUA/Ps, have limited access to medical care or have higher medical needs than services available to them. In other words, we provide health services to the people who need them most.
  4. Services for all. We will provide you with medical care regardless of your ability to pay and regardless of your insurance status. We will work something out for you. We can even help you get temporary insurance.

What kind of federal funding do FQHCs get?
FQHCs get government reimbursements under Medicare & Medicaid. They also qualify for federal funding through Section 330 of the Public Health Service Act, but they do not necessarily have to receive the funding to be considered an FQHC.

Why are FQHCs so important?
FQHCs level the playing field. We will not deny you healthcare because you don’t have insurance, because you are not a U.S. Citizen or because you cannot afford medical care. FQHCs exist to provide care to everyone who needs it.